Even fun can be tough

Some fun has to be cut short. I had used my Odeon points to buy tickets to Despicable Me 3. He was so excited but being in the cinema was just too overwhelming for him. 

Afterwards he could tell me It was “too dark” and he “didn’t like the screen”. I imagine it’s too bright. I struggled through lighting up his seat with my phone torch, letting him move back etc. Ultimately I called time. He had laughed for a short time at the car chase that is near the beginning and we had managed maybe 30 minutes. He’d shouted through a lot of that though. 

Not only did I take a very distressed little boy home, I also had to deal with various difficult behaviours on the way home. In the cafe he threw some wooden stirrers on the floor. Despite having him on reins, he can go on a rampage very quickly. 

I know well by now these little acts of rebellion are part of his need to reassert his control over his environment. His Demand Avoidance traits are often particularly on display when he has been anxious. 

I had to stop him today from ringing every doorbell we pass. Direct instructions are a red rag to a bull at these times so instead I tried to distract and give him things to look at on the road. Ironically the thing that worked today was he spotted the “Minions bus” (its advertising Despicable Me 3)
We are waiting to hear about the Autism screenings as we want to see Cars 3 and I’d like to see the end of the film!  

Leave a Reply

